Georg-Simmel Center for Urban Studies

About us

Executive Director

Prof. Dr. Talja Blokland (Department of Urban and Regional Sociology)

Dr. Heike Oevermann (Vice Executive Director)


Prof. Dr. Talja Blokland

Prof. Dr. Ilse Helbrecht

Prof. Dr. Ignacio Farias

Dr. Heike Oevermann

Dr. Henrik Schultze

Supporter of the Georg-Simmel Center

The following Institutes of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin support the Georg-Simmel Center financially (in alphabetical order):

Department of European Ethnology

Geography Department

Department of Social Sciences


Department of Cultural History and Theory

Department of Art and Visual History

Department of History

Department of Romance Literatures and Linguistics

Department of German Literature

Department of Psychology

Department of Computer Science

Research Group

Urban Research Group: Urban Commons

Markus Kip (

Urban Research Group: NYLON BERLIN

Helen Gibson (

Urban Research Group: New Urban Tourism

Christoph Sommer (

Urban Research Group: Global Urban Youth

Nina Margies (

Urban Ethnography Lab

Carolin Genz (

Students Urban Research Group

Nicolas Goez (

Associated Networks

The Artist and the City 

stadt:gestalten. netzwerk junger urbanist_innen